top of page

Bus Stop Miracles

Hello everyone!!

So, I have officially been out for a month! Oh my goodness! One month down anddddd well, a lot more to go haha I just won't type the number. It looks too big right now. But oh my goodness the miracles that I have seen! And the people I have met and the food I have eaten and the words I have heard... too much. I have been given way too much haha Well I will first start with the food that I have eaten so far because I don't think I have mentioned them yet..

English Foods!

Mince Pies. So good. They're these little pastry things that kind of taste like fig newtons? I don't know.. that's the best I can explain it haha But the English are big on their breads and pastries! Eton Mess. Also so good. It's like crunched up meringue (marshmallows?) and then put whip cream on top, and finally add some fresh strawberries. Yeah, they are too good to me here haha Ginger snaps! Oh my goodness! haha these taste like those little gingerbread man cookies that Grandma always had at Christmas time. I'm in love. They have a lot of Biscuits here. Which are like cookies.. but they're biscuits.. I'm not entirely sure yet. ha Still trying to work that one out! Also, cupcakes are called fairy cakes here! So cute! haha

Words of the Week!

Chippy-- this is what you would call a little shop that sells well, fish and chips haha but they also sell other things too. But all chippies sell the same things. Not too much variety!! I miss Mexican food. ha

You Alright?-- yeah. they don't say hello or hi or howdy. It's "You alright?" and I've also found out that they don't expect you to respond haha and If I were to say "Hiya" they stare at me and then reply with "you alright?" I don't know.. that's just how they do it here I guess haha

Miracle Moment!

Sister Nelson and I saw some truly incredible miracles this week! I am learning so much from Sister Nelson and she is learning a lot from training me.. mainly patience I think.. ;)We are also learning that it is ok to be lost haha! We were waiting at a bus stop for what seemed like ages and so we pulled out my quad to look up scriptures in the book of Matthew. This old lady next to us just began to smile this almost ridiculously big smile and we began talking to her about the scriptures and who we were! Not too long after I noticed this lady run up and I noticed that she was wearing heels. Oh boy. I knew how that was haha And seeing as there were not any other seats available for her to wait on I offered her mine which she gladly took and we laughed about how tiring wearing heels were which then of course, led into a discussion about who we were and we gave her a copy of the Book of Mormon and shared our testimonies! But wait! That's not all! After she had left on her bus a man jumped up and practically ran over to us and told us how happy he was that we are sharing our testimonies and we told him about prophets and he believed every word of it!

Weekly Update!

Really and truly this is a marvellous work and a wonder. I often feel as though there is nothing that I have to contribute.. and especially with everything that is required of us as missionaries there are just times when I feel as though I cannot do it! How in the world will anyone listen to what I have to say? I don't know everything, hardly anything close to it haha but I think the theme of the past week has been "You don't know everything... but you know enough"And how true this is.I don't know everything and yeah, at times that can make things difficult and can really shoot my confidence but, I was called here to serve the Lord's mission, and I was called by a Living Prophet of God. He doesn't call the qualified, He qualifies the Called. I am where I need to be and I know everything that I need to know for today, for the people that I meet today. And that's all that matters. Press forward with a firm and steadfast faith in Christ and everything will be ok!

Quote of the Week!

This was at our Zone conference with President Preston. I love how he has a sense of humor!!"Now, all of you who are here learning English as your second language; why are you here? Why are you learning English?"

"It's because English, is God's Language" - President Preston

"Umm, do you mean English English or American English?" -Elder Hunt

Talking about Adam partaking of the fruit of the tree of knowledge of good and evil: "Well you know, I think that Eve must have just put it in Adam's fruit smoothie that morning.." -Elder Norman

Well. TA TA FOR NOW!

I love you all and I keep you in my prayers <3

Loads of love,

Sister Reed


bottom of page