top of page

Mountains to Climb


Hey ho everyone!

This week was amazing! So many exciting changes and miracles and great experiences.

First off, I love the word "thingy". It's amazing to me that anyone can use that word to replace the actual thing and literally everyone knows what they're talking about.

For example:

"The thing came on yesterday, did you see it?" "Oh yeah it was great! I can't believe that they would just let him go like that!"

"Where's thingy today?" "Oh she couldn't come today because she's not feeling well"

"Can you get that thing tomorrow for me?" "Yeah I can do that, did you want double or single cream for it?"

These were real life examples. I don't know how it happens, but somehow when someone says "thingy" you know what they're talking about every time. It's great.

Anyway! It was the Fourth of July this weekend! Which is one of my favourite holidays. One, because I love America and two because I love the family traditions that go with it :) back home my family would usually just hang out and play games! We would usually swim and en have a good ole BBQ and to finish the night we'd let off some fireworks in our yard. Which we luckily can do living in Texas.

Although I didn't swim... Or light of fireworks.. We did get together and have a BBQ at the chapel! We tried to find American things... So we brought some Capri Suns, some hot dogs, burgers, marshmallows (America. Sized apparently) haha you could tell that it was a total American thing because as we were saying the prayer to bless the food you could hear the grease sizzling from every corner of the room... 'Merica.

We had a meeting this week with all of the mission leadership and it was so powerful! We've had a mission culture where we've been told ever since we received our mission calls that we "would learn a lot, but we wouldn't baptise". And then we come to a point where we do all that we can and then we think that if we're lucky, the Lord would bless us with someone who wants to be baptised.

I'll admit, I've been guilty of that way of thinking.

But after this meeting I've come to really understand the power and authority of our call as missionaries. We were not called to teach! We were called to baptise! Our mission president then challenged us to go out and within the next 48 hours give everyone that we are teaching a date for baptism.

So we set out to work. There are so many miracles in the making! We've invited three People so far to be baptised and they've all said yes! One to a specific date. It's incredible that when we go out and work, with the faith that we are called to ring others to Christ we suddenly can find those who are prepared.

I love this work so much. It's heartbreaking at times to see the people you love ignore the answers they receive, but the times when you can see someone realise who they are as a child of God make up for everything else. This is the greatest work we can be a part of!

Also, President Ulrich thinks that I'm going home this transfer. Oh well. Haha everyone has thought that I go home soon since I first came into the mission so I guess it's not too different, right? But I'm still here! And I'm still working!! Ha

I love you all so much! I tried to climb a mountain Monday... Literally not figuratively.

But sister Conlogue and I had no clue what we were doing! And the wind and rain was crazy. Wales is beautiful though, whether or not we got to the top of his mountain. I'm proud of how far we did get though! Enjoy the pictures :)

Love you all! Thank you for your emails and your prayers!!

Love,

Sister Reed


bottom of page