top of page

Borderline Narcoleptic


Hello again from the lovely land of England! Well last week was pretty much a blur... I can't believe I'm sitting here typing out another weekly email. It's a bit scary actually, the way time is racing away from me. The wonderful week started off with an epic fail of trying to climb a mountain. I know I sent home some pictures last week but seriously, they did the view and our wet rat appearance no justice haha it was absolutely beautiful to be up there in the Welsh mountains looking out over the creations God has given to us. Looking at how perfectly imperfect the view was with the hills, rocks, waterfalls, streams... How could it all have been just an accident? "The scriptures are laid before thee, yea, and all things denote there is a God; yea, even the earth, and all things that are upon the face of it, yea, and its motion, yea, and also all the planets which move in their regular form do witness that there is a Supreme Creator" (alma 30:44) I love being here, and I love the opportunities that we get to see this land and experience the culture and history of it all. Because part of this history is mine! My ancestors came from this land and to be back here is a really incredible experience. BUT. After failing to climb this mountain we headed home to get back to work :) no one told us that the trail would end and we'd have to literally climb up this mountain wall to get to the top of Snowdon haha and we weren't exactly dressed in the best attire... The rain was slashing down and pelting us in the face and I had about 4 layers on... By the end of it all I looked like I was wearing black pleather jeans... And I was completely soaked through to every layer! So because we had stayed the night in the Wrexham sisters flat we had some of our pyjamas with us. We ran to the little toilets they had and changed into those, then we ran back to our car and turned up the heat full blast to try and defrost! We ate the lunch that the cute Wrexham sisters had made for us. I had never felt so happy to be back in a car and off of a mountain before... Not that I had ever been on a mountain. So we went on exchanges with the Runcorn sisters!!! I was so excited for this one!!! I was going with Sister Roder from Denmark who had emailed me back in December when she had received her call to England. So it was a lot of fun to go and work with her for 24 hours! ANDDDD I got to have tea with the Ireland's!! Which was amazing and the food was delicious :) of course! We met some amazing people and it felt so strange to be back... But I loved every second :) Hmm... Back in our own area! This week was almost like a follow up week. Last week we went hard in meeting with all of our investigators to give them a date for baptism and this week was full of following up with them. It's getting close to the summer holidays so everyone is getting pretty busy :/ Tracy who is dated for the end of the month is still struggling with a lot of health problems so we're doing all we can to help support her! Also, I think my companion and I have discovered something new about me. Again, if you know anything about me, you know how much I love sleep. And mum, and dad too actually, you know better than anyone how necessary sleep is for me! Haha my brother will remember fondly what it was like to wake me up in the mornings as well :) well Sister Conlogue has diagnosed me with borderline narcolepsy. I can just fall asleep at any moment, sometimes it's during the most inconvenient times.. Like whilst I'm walking. Or while I'm teaching someone on the street, or looking at a map... I not too sure what to do about it. So I guess I will just continue on! It's a good thing there are two of us always together, right? Probably one of the best moments of this week though happened at our tea appointment. The members made this delicious lasagna and Sister Conlogue had two helpings. Which is quite reasonable I think. Well, after tea we went to the sitting room to give our message! Right at the beginning Sister Conlogue sneezed and I said bless you and we went on. Normal, right? Well, afterwards we walked back to our car. She turned to me and said "sister, you know when I sneezed?" "Yes....?" "Well, my belt broke. I took it off during the prayer." I don't think I have ever laughed so hard in my life. We shared the experience with the Zone Leaders of course and you know what they said?? "Maybe only eat one helping next time..." Gotta love missionaries, right? We're excited for this upcoming week!! We're going to see a castle today so I'll send some of those pictures home! I love you all and miss you! Thank you for your prayers and for your emails! They mean the world to me. I can't believe how the time has flown! This week I'll have two blessed months left. I'm hoping that I can put everything I can into it, to get done all of those things that the Lord would have me to do. With loads of Love form England, Sister Reed


bottom of page