top of page

Sooner Than You Think


Well, it's been long enough since I've sent one of these home... So just a few things that have happened!! I turned 22. Weird. But it was so fun! The day started off pretty slow and rainy, next doing a few call by's.. But then about 6 we went to drop off our progress record to our ward mission leaders house. They gave me a birthday card and then surprised me with tea for the night!! It was such a nice surprise and so great to be in a home for my birthday :) and there were so many wonderful people who called me and sang! It was just the greatest thing ever!!! Last year, the Swedish elders called me and sang in Swedish... Well one of them is home now but the other is in the office. So at about 8 that evening I get a call from the office and it's Elder Nilsson!! He sang in Swedish again and it was great haha but what was not so great was that he followed it up with my trunky call.... For those of you who don't know what that is. A trunky call is when a missionary gets down to about 3 months left of their mission and the office calls for details such as whether or not your parents are picking you up, what airport you will be flying into, if you still have the same stake president who will be releasing you from your call as a missionary, etc. not exactly what I wanted to think about on my birthday but hey ho, it was going to come at some point right? Onto the work!! Wow, we are teaching so many incredible people. And still having a laugh while going about this incredible work! Transfers is this week and SISTER CONLOGUE AND I ARE STAYING TOGETHER!!!!! We're super excited for that because of the incredible friendship we have and with the people here in Newcastle. Speaking of those who we are teaching... Sarah is absolutely wonderful. She is still studying with the Jehovah's witnesses but is spending more time with us now and is sincerely seeking the truth from the Book of Mormon which is fantastic!! We went to a members home last night (someone she actually knows from her sign language course) and we taught the rest of the restoration and watched the 19 minute film in their living room! Technology is incredible. We weren't planning on watching it... But it took one minute to set it up and she was interested. From the moment it began I could feel the Spirit attending all of us in that room and witnessing to us the truthfulness of the events that took place to bring about the restoration of Gods church. Afterwards she looked so happy. She couldn't really find much to say other than, "that was brill" and she couldn't stop smiling! It was so fulfilling to see and to be a part of it. I love Sarah! She has such a sincere desire to find the truth. We also met another woman named Kerry! We decided to ditch the car and walk to our appointments and that's how we met her! She was just on her way home for work and we just had a simple conversation about our beliefs which led to me just spilling out the invitation to be baptised mid conversation and her accepting to meet with us again! She was wonderful!!! We're seeing her again on Tuesday and I cannot wait!! Hmm... Well. My body is a breaking. Haha I feel so bad because I remember laughing to myself about all of the "old" missionaries thinking they were just being babies at the end... Obviously I'm being humbled right now because it's all catching up to me! But there is nothing more satisfying than wasting and wearing out your life for this great and marvellous work. I was reading in the first book of Nephi this past week and I just realised how far the whole history came. These people were just trying to make their way in life! Trying to find happiness and peace. And we know that that is what God wants for us. We have so many examples in the scriptures of the worst tragedies being overcome by the gifts God gives to us. AND we have the fullness of the everlasting gospel!!! I am overwhelmed with gratitude for the peace it gives me to know that no matter what, there is a plan. A plan that includes my family being together forever, a plan that includes a Saviour of all mankind, someone who at any given moment knows how I feel. I am grateful that this mission has given me my identity back. I have come to remember who I am as a child of a Heavenly Father, and that I am individual and unique... And am so loved by my Saviour. We all are. I love this gospel! I love being a missionary! "Angels speak the words of the Holy Ghost. Wherefore they speak the words of Christ, wherefore I said unto you feast upon the words of Christ, for behold the words of Christ will tell you all things what ye should do" Study the Book of Mormon. pray. And God will tell you He is there :) I love you all!!! Have an incredible week!!! Love, Sister Reed Ps. We saw monkeys last week :) so here are some pictures!!


bottom of page