top of page

#horseman #whatismylife


Hello everyone!!! Another week from the sunny but rainy England!!! I know that those two don't actually go together... But somehow, England makes it work. This week was a lot of fun... My time here seems to be slipping from me. We started the week by visiting castle ruins which was a lot of fun! And then we had exchanges with the sisters in Wrekin! Sister Schwab came up here to Newcastle with me and we just had a blast together. She's been out for about 5 months now and we just went out and talked to everyone! We having so much fun sharing the gospel and learning from each other. We went to go and try by a less active member who happened to be in this time and afterwards we had planned to tract a street. I forgot the map so we headed back to where we parked the car so that we could just use the SAT NAV. I could not find flippin Weaver Place... The street we had planned to knock. After about 10 minutes I looked up and right in front of me was a sign that read "weaver place". So I guess next time I'll just try and focus on what's right in front of me! Ha Not too many people answered except for the very last door... He's this sweet 84 year old man and he invited us back! We were pretty excited about that and as we were heading to the car a man walked towards us from across the street. I waved and called out to him.. "Hiya, you alright?" "Yeah, it's a good day. Are you Jehovah's witnesses?" "No actually, we're from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints!" "It's the same thing.. You're both cults." He then continued to tear into us and our beliefs and poor sister Schwab just kind of stood behind me while this man yelled in our faces. I knew there was nothing we could say.. I had never felt so much anger in me, nor had I ever been so attacked for simply sharing our views about Christ. He chewed up and spit out everything that I said, and so I just took a breath and declared that Jesus Christ was our Saviour. He lives, and he loves all of us. We are His messengers to declare His gospel. I prayed to be able to speak clearly with the power of my calling and afterwards I just thanked him for his comments and then politely stated that we wanted to leave. He was not having it! He walked with me throwing his finger in my face shouting all kinds of profanities and then ran off to his car. We were almost to ours when he pulled up and rolled down his window... Continuing to shout at us. But hey, we're defenders of the truth. I will gladly take anything for the truth which I am sharing. Although it wasn't a pleasant experience, I was grateful for the chance that I had to stand as a witness of my Saviour and Redeemer. On another note..... We went to drop of a Book of Mormon in Polish to the elders and their neighbour opened his door, stuck out his head, and then neighed. He was also wearing an extremely realistic horse mask. So naturally, we went to go and share the gospel with him. He was great! Hahaha his name is Clint and apparently he loves to give the elders a hard time... But the elders have never seen his face nor have they ever gotten his name. So we completed our mission really. Haha it was great. Also, during our street display a man touched my face and said I was pretty in response to my question about the weather. That was interesting. And see, the elders NEVER believe us when we say these kinds of things happen, BUT they actually got to witness it this time! So HA. Also, on our way back from exchange we had a great experience. Not really, it was just super embarrassing. We were at this super posh town centre car park that gave us a ticket to enter. When you leave the car park you turn the ticket in again and then depending on how long you parked for is how much you pay... But we were only there for like 5 minutes so we drove to exit and sister Conlogue rolled down the window to put the ticket into the machine... It spit it back out. Meanwhile, the cars were lining up behind us... There were loads. Suddenly sister Conlogue exclaimed that we were supposed to pay before we got to that point! Well, she was driving so I had to get out and make the walk of shame to the pay machine... Almost getting hit by a giant yellow pole that was heading towards my face and then slightly slipping and screaming in surprise. It was quite the scene. Anyway, I got there and the machine said we didn't need to pay.... Great. I ran back and gave it to her to put in the machine and it spit it out again!!!! Turns out she was putting it in upside down.... #thethingsIdoformycompanion I love being a missionary! So many experiences and things to learn from. I love the people I meet! I love this Gospel, I love the Book of Mormon, and I love my Saviour. I hope you all have a good week!!! Loads of love, Sister Reed


bottom of page