top of page

Ain't No Party Like a Runcorn Party!

I'm just going to stop apologizing for these emails coming so rarely because well, it happens every week basically haha

But hopefully I have some good things to share with you this week!!

Miracles!

Oh my goodness!! SO I can't remember if I have already shared this one or not.. story of my life.. but there was one day when Sister Warren and I were calling by some potential investigators and less actives and we had a list the size of a 5 year old's Christmas list so we were kind of surprised when we got through the whole thing and still had an hour left of time before our next appointment.

Umm. Well.

Yeah I know I'm the trainer and all.. but I wasn't given any special powers or abilites haha so I just kind od said alright, we're going to pull out this map, pick a road, and knock doors. So we picked a road called Penfolds.

We trudged over, a bit tired from all of our walking, and then slowely approached the first door.

A woman named Deborah answered and invited us in.

I couldn't believe it! The very first door!!

My faith in door knocking had been dwindling a bit the past weeks but I thought that if I just kept knocking anything could happen. And look at that! The very first door we try :)

Awkward Moments

Anyways.. awkward moment.

So we went to the missionary fireside last night, right? Which happens once a month, usually the first or second Sunday. Missionaries gather and bring any investigators to the Manchester South Chapel and listen to the testimonies of recently baptised members.

Well, afterwards we were climbing back into the car to head home and we had brought some cookies. So we had cookies and I was just happily chomping away on a cookie and pretty undignified like too... thinking that no one was really watching me. I mean, I just climbing into the back of a car which is hard enough as it is to do in a skirt let alone with a cookie in your hand. So I kind of half shoved it into my mouth to free up my hands. Well, then I remembered that we were right next to this car and I thought that I saw some people getting into it.. well there could be people in it. So I looked around and in the window right next to me was this man, an investigator brought by other missionaries, who was just staring at me looking utterly disgusted... so I just smiled with my mouth full and then instinctively waved at him for a good couple seconds. Then realizing what he must have just witnessed I turned around so I could acutally swallow and attempt to regain some of my dignity.

I tried. But then I looked back and everyone in the car was laughing and waving.

So yeah. That happened. I'm just an awkward person I guess.. there is no point denying it now. I'm in too deep

Update on the Work

So the work here is moving... we are teaching a wonderful woman named Jacqui who is one of the most sincere truth seekers I have ever met! She truly wants to know and to gain a relationship with her Father in Heaven. It is such a pleasure to visit with her and to teach her the things that we have found to be true and good.

We also met another woman named Jan! She lost her husband a few years ago and since then has lost faith in there being a God. But has had hope that maybe she might see him again. Then she met us! We shared with her that families are forever! And that in the House of the Lord, our Temples, God has given us the ability to be sealed to our spouses and our children and parents. She could not stop smiling. The spirit was so sweet, it was as though she had been wandering the streets of runcorn just waiting for anyone to tell her that she could see her dear husband again. I just love her!

The ward is incredible. Not only are they all good cooks ;) But they are such good missionaries!!!!!!!

They are not afraid to share the gospel with everyone they know. We are planning a ward halloween party and they all have already planned to invite their neighbors and friends. Anyone can do missionary work, we do it just by living the standards of the Gospel!!

Pray for the courage to open your mouth, or the opportunity to do some service! And then see if you can invite the missionaries along :)

Spiritual Thought

I absolutely loved general conference last week. It was such a spiritually enlightening experience, I truly felt the words of the hymn "Nearer my God to thee" ring true in the moments when I listened to the prophet and apostles speak.

One quote or thought that I really liked was from President Monson.

He says "Nothing else, no other choice we make, can make of us what He can".

I love it.

Everything that we do in this life, everything we learn and want to become, all of the skills we acquire, the talents we develop, the charactistics we gain, can only make us into something good. Something temporary. But our Heavenly Father and our Savior can make us into something eternal. When we follow Him, when we allow Him to shape us that is when we begin to fulfil our potential! He can make us into what He knows we can be! I know that we are all sons and daughters of a Heavenly Father. That we have a divine potential and purpose. That we are heirs to His kingdom and He wants us to return there! Let us do all that we can to make that our goal. And I Promise you that you will be eternally blessed both here in this life and in the life to come.

A Word on Trials

So, taking that last quote that I shared with you. Here is just a word on trials.

Sometimes we feel burdened, and heavy with choices

Like there is no way out, and too many voices

Telling us where to go and what we must do

But really, it all must come down to just you.

There is no light in this darkness it seems

and you'd really much rather just stay in your dreams

but sometimes these trials must come to us

so that we may learn of how we can trust.

We trust in our Savior, for he is our friend

He carried our burdens, our hearts he can mend

But our door must be opened from the inside out

Our Savior is waiting to help us grow out!

So our trials may seem daunting and really unfair

But we must learn to grow, if we are to be His joint heirs!

So He is shaping us and helping us to learn and become

What we as his children alone could never have done

So you see, a tree could never grow mighty or strong

If those winds never blew against it all the day long!

Cheer up my dear friends, for the day is bright

Our Savior will always be our eternal, guiding light

And because of Him, we may all live again

With our Savior, our families, truly happy within

Quotes of the Week!

"Everything will be ok in the end, if it's not ok, it's not the end"

"The best time to plant a tree is 20 years ago. The second best time is now"

"Oh yeah! So I found the collector's edition Marvel Superheroes Chess set that was in our water closet!"

"Elliot! You're out! Sit down!"

"No, I'll stand thanks, I don't want to get fat"

Well, tah tah for now my friends!

I love you all!

Expect miracles!

Love,

Sister Reed


bottom of page