top of page

England at Christmas Time

Wow. There is so much to say and I literally have no clue where to start. SO forgive me if this week's email is completely random and all over the place... and if there are a ton of spelling errors well. Forgive me. #ipromiseicanspell

So yeah, Christmas time in England is magical. I love it so much! BUt I love the people here even more! And all of the sights and sounds.. maybe could do without some of the smells... but hey, it's all part of the experience, right? :)

So we were walking the streets of Ashton well, closer to Manchester I guess and just ahead of us is the Etihad stadium where Manchester City play. And I guess it must have been game day or something but there was a sea of people all sporting their light blue scarves, hates, glvoes, jackets, you name it! It was madness! and we were of course walking away from the stadium so the pedestrian traffic was out of control! #partlikethebluesea

But it was so muhc fun just to see everyone gathering and heading towards the football pitch. It was even crazier when we were walking around later and the town was completely desolate haha and then there was a roar that quite literally hit me. Man City must have scored because it was SO loud!!!!! ha I want to come back here some day and go to an actual football game! Just to see. BUt don't ask me who I'd support because I'm non biased... well, I'm trying to be haha

Hmm... the weather here is insane! It's so cold! And the sun starts going down at about half three so that's a bit strange. It's completely dark by 4pm and we're just walking the streets like missionaries do!

The Christmas season is amazing though. Everyone has lights and little displays in their windows... I love it! And I can't wait for this week and everything we have planned. I can't wait to skype home! I was told last week that I sounded English... so I guess we'll see if that's true haha #i'mtexish?

I learned some new words this week though! Nawt means nothing and a bog roll is toilet paper... I know. So clever. And so slangy... love it!

But I also learned some things in tagalog. One of them on accident. Sister Zulueta and I were doing language study and I was helping her pronounce the word tongue and then I just started repeating it over and over adding in an extra vowel and she just stared at me with a blank face. "Sister, you are calling me stupid in tagalog!"

Well, oops! I just laughed at her but she was so serious! ha It scared me a bit... "well, at least I didn't swear at you in another language!"

*silence*

"Well, that is a swear word in tagalog"

haha well. I guess it's true then. The first words you learn in a new language are the ones you shouldn't ever say! #learnedmylesson #ihavelanguagestudynow

This is the worst. I had so much to say and I completely forgot it all. plus my timer is beeping like crazy which is adding to my stress.

Well, I hope that you all have a merry Christmas! And if you haven't yet, take a look at this video, it's beautiful! christmas.mormon.org

Loads of love and a happy CHRISTmas from England!!!!

Love, Sister Reed


bottom of page