top of page

Sister Reed and the Deafly Widows

That's a terrible title I know... but I couldn't think of a btter way to describe some of my favorite things about this transfer.

Yeah, I know, another trasnfer has gone by! Crazy. But I'll tell you what's happening in a second.

Ok,

I won't make you wait any longer.

I'M GETTING TRANSFERRED TO THE YSA WARD! WOOO! Right in the heart of Manchester! I'll be follow up training a sister from Albania. I wish I could tell you all her name but I would just mess up the spelling completely.... So I will include her name and a guide on how to pronounce it in next weeks email. If I don't forget.

Back to this past week though..

It has rained like crazy! And now that the holidays are over and everyone is back to work and to school well I think that it was just the right timing for everyone to get sick! Seriously, everyone was pretty ill this past week. I'm battling my own head cold at the minute but it's not so bad.. once you're outside for a good 30 minutes everything goes numb anyway.

Speaking of outside.. I've always wanted to be able to say yeah, I was caught in like a torrential down pour whilst declaring repentance to all nations! What they don't tell you when you come to England though is it's not the torrential downpours that get you, it's the slow, constant, steady drizzle. It soaks you right through!

Sister Zulueta and I thought that we would be really clever and pick the longest street ever to tract down. And we were in a trio for about 4 hours so we thought that there was nothing better to do than go knock on doors! In the rain! It was great. It was like I had my own personal swimming pool in each of my boots...

And everyone knows that the worst feeling is wearing wet jeans. Well, I think just wearing about 4 layers of clothes that are completely drenched is about the equivalent.

But we had so much fun! Like I said, after 30 minutes everything just goes numb anyway :)

We were laughing and just having a blast. I bet all of the digs stuck inside their owners home were jealous of all the puddles we were walking through.

Well there are a few little old lady's here (thus the title of this email) that I have just adored getting to know! Of course, I'm not too sure if they will remember me but I will definitely remember them! There is one we visit every sunday and I just love her! She may be getting on in years but her humor is just as sharp as ever! She likes to sit in her chair and look through her window at the neighbors. "That one sure likes to sleep she does. I could never sleep all day" hahaha "I have to sit a little behind that curtain so they don't see me". Ah. I just love her and all of her stories. I will definitely miss them!

The other lady is just as sweet. But likewise, she could never hear me. I have no idea what's wrong with my voice.. but Sister Zulueta would have to repeat every question I would ever ask because they just couldn't hear me! That, or it was my Texas Twang. I guess we'll never know.

Oh, I ate Pheasant this week.

Also, we found adog collar witha microchip in it. So we returned it to the owner.. she was pleased to get it back but a little less pleased to see who was returning it. Thay's alright, I smiled real big for her.

I made some cookies. Like, a lot of cookies. We dropped some off for a lady and she said they were nice. Which made me feel all warm and fuzzy and all that jazz. Well, she was having a rough day later in the week so we brought her some more as a surprise thing. She texted us later saying that they were much better than the first ones we brought. But they were from the same batch? So I'm a bit confused about that one....

Let's see here... oh! Oh yeah! We're teaching this Russian family and I just love them to pieces! The kids all speak fluent english, but the parents speak russian and the mother speaks latvian. We brought the restoration dvd over and Raymond (the father) took it upstairs to watch. So we didn't really know what to do... well. As I am planning on becoming a children's entertainer I pulled out my bag of tricks and made up as many weird noises I could think of. They loved it, oddly enough. And we taught them all how to sing "I am a Child of God" That was the best part :)

When Raymond came down he looked a bit upset. I was bracing myself for the worst (even though it would be in russian anyway) and then he just stuck the dvd at me and said "This, this was too short. You come back and bring longer one".

hahah it was the best. He probably thought I was crazy because I just smiled back and said yeah, of course!!

So I will miss Ashton. It was fantastic to be here over the holidays and I have loved getting to know some of the members! I will miss them all. But Manchester calls! I'm going to the land of YSA! Woo!! We'll see how this goes :)

I love you all! Until next week, (if I survive the city)

~Sister Reed


bottom of page