top of page

REAL TALK make it count

So sometimes when I type out a word with an O in it it will put two O's there. And that's annoying me.

And it's also completely irrelevant but I'm annoyed with it so I'm writing about it.

Also, a little fun fact. Every week in the mission we get a newsletter. It's called "The Harvester" and it will include things such as how we are doing in our mission, a note from the Mission President, his wife, the assistants, some of the missionaries and then some reminders or announcements.

I think for the past 4 months every. single. week. I think it's announcement #3? Has been the following; "Someone's parents have sent them an oral B toothbrush. If this is yours, please claim it" and every so often it will also include the statement "We still have the toothbrush".

I don't understand first off why someone would be sent a tooth brush, and secondly why no one has claimed a free toothbrush.

Sister Gjikaj gets really annoyed every week that she sees it and so finally when we saw President on Saturday morning she asked him if she could just claim the toothbrush. He said yes! Hallelujah.

SO hopefully in this week's newsletter they will instead put for announcement #3 "Sister Gjikaj has claimed the toothbrush".

I'll let y'all know how it goes. There may or may not be some cheering from missionaries all over England.

Now onto this week.

So on Tuesday we had mission Olympics! With half of the mission and it was a blast! It's always nice to wear regular clothes and play some volleyball... and at the end there were so many of the departing missionaries that went to bear their testimonies. My trainer was one of them! Ahhh!!! I can't believe that she's going home. And in 7 months I go home! BUT I LOVE BEING A MISSIONARY.

I love talking to random people on the street and having them really open up to the idea of there being someone out there who knows them personally. I love seeing the light enter into their eyes and their hearts.

I love studying the scriptures and praying.

Also. I love being in a trio! Sister Fromgren went home because her mission finished and so now I'm finishing training Sister Cristobal as well. But it is so much fun! She is from Spain and a little fun fact... I found out that one of my roommates from University was serving in her home ward in Spain! Small world!

This week has been incredible. I really love every second of this work. Every Friday we volunteer at the food bank next to the catholic church and the ladies who work there are SO funny! They always tell us to say our "Mormon prayers" because they work haha it is so wonderful to just go out and to serve alongside those of other faiths. Because we are all God's children here on earth to help love and serve one another!

So last week I shared the miracle of the girl we are teaching and this week couldn't have gone nay better. It was a bit rocky nearing the weekend.. but Heavenly Father allows things to test us and to strengthen us. And I think she realised that as well. She had been saying her prayers every night until friday night and she was just concerned that she wasn't really feeling anything yet. It really worried her. But then again, she didn't really know what she was missing because she didn't exactly know what she was looking for.

After our lesson on Sunday (we finished the Plan of Salvation) we sat there talking about how to recognize the Spirit and to be diligent. All three of us fell silent... we weren't sure what more to say but we all knew that our lesson hadn't finished yet. But what else did we need to say?

Finally I began to explain to her about Priesthood blessings. And how if she ever wanted to have a moment where she could feel the spirit and know without a doubt that it was the spirit then a blessing would be able to provide her with that experience and as well the peace and comfort that she is looking for.

She agreed to have one, which in itself is a miracle.

Luckily there were two elders in the building that had just finished giving a chapel tour and so we called them over and they gladly agreed to give her a blessing.

It was simply beautiful.

As soon as the second line was spoken I felt such an overwhelming love and peace in the room and I knew that she could feel it as well. Afterwards we all sat there and she had a look of complete calm and bliss on her face. She looked a bit out of place too... "I don't know what to say."

"How do you feel?"

"Well, I dunno. I feel like I'm not in this world really."

"That's because this power is from Heaven."

And with that she just looked at me and nodded.

It was incredible. I am so happy for her! I know that Heavenly Father knows each one of us so individually.. He knows what we need when we need it, and if we do our part, and put in the effort He will ALWAYS bless us. If we ask Him with faith, and real intent, and with a sincere heart, then He will manifest the truth of all things unto us.

I know this to be true with all of my heart.

FOOD

So I tried fried milk this week.

I don't understand it either.

But to be honest... it wasn't that bad, surprisingly enough...

Also, I tried to make my own maple syrup. And that was a disaster.

OH! And I went to this place called Nando's? It's like portugues food I think... and that was WAY spicy.

AHHHH! Transfer calls are next monday morning! So I'll let you all know what happens next week! I'm just hoping they don't call us at 6:30 in the morning...

Funny Quotes

I think that Heavenly Father knows how much I love to laugh because he has put me with some of the funniest people on the planet.

"Oh! That reminds me of my dream from last night!

Me.

Will Smith.

Waffles." ~Elder Johnson

"I dare you to use an undignified word" ~Elder Curtis

"Alma just testifies so much! I don't know which one it is!" ~During Scripture chase

"The lamanites are so cheeky!" ~Sister Gjikaj

"How long have you been on a mission elder Johnson? How come you are not fat?" ~Sister Gjikaj

"I have the gift of reading lips" ~Sister Gjikaj

"Bermuda? I only know that planes get lost there.." ~Sister Gjikaj

"So I have a question Elder Clark. How come you said I was 9 and not 10?" ~Sister Gjikaj

"Yeah, we just need to trust in God because we can't trust men" ~Sister Gjikaj

"Well, I'm glad that Willy Wonka and the chocolate factory wasn't filmed in Norway" ~Elder Johnson


bottom of page