top of page

In So Many Words...

So this week has been quite the emotional and crazy week.

I made a list of everything that happened so that I wouldn't have to try and remember when I got to the computer... but then I didn't remember to actually bring the list.

So I will probably forget a lot of the things that happened and this will be a watered-down version of my week :)

Well, it was transfers this week. And some of my best friends in the mission were ending their time out here in England. Including my trainer, Sister Nelson. I love her so much! She is one of my dearest friends. It was so weird to see her go... as well as some of the other missionaries I had the privilege to serve around. I couldn't believe that they were all heading home!

And it's March.

WHAT.

It's not true. and I'm not even going to say what march means.

So my albanian companion left to stockport on wednesday and Sister Cristobal and I are staying here in the YSA! I am super excited to be staying here for another transfer.. because there is so much work to be done!

Wednesday evening after transfers we were feeling a bit down so when we headed in the last hour to do language study we decided to go up a floor to visit the Pews and to return their bedding to them. We walked into the hallway and saw that they were just driving in! AND the zone leaders were pulling in too. So we thought we would hide in the Elevator under the duvet and just pray that no one else needed to use the elevator before they got in.

It takes courage to hide under a duvet in the elevator.

So we got to the bottom floor and the doors open and we just hear sister Pew laughing. But we were silent. So then I guess she second guessed whether she knew who was under there because she stopped laughing and got in the elevator and said "Well, I hope I know you" ha at that point we just started to laugh and we went up to the top floor with her. When we got to the top we met the zone leaders there who just kind of looked at us with weird faces. Then they told us that the other zone leaders were staying with the pews tonight so we should just wait in the elevator again. DEAL.

And so we went back down again, hiding under the duvet.

So we are perfectly still and silent for when the doors open. And we didn't really think about the next part... but One of the Zone leaders just started to laugh and walked in and started to pretend to beat me up. Then I realised that he thought we were the other zone leaders who had just gone up minutes before!! This is awkward.. the whole time sister Cristobal and I were just trying not to laugh.

Well, when we weren't responding probably how an elder would, this elder just got quiet and then started to pull back the cover. I think the moment he saw our hair he just said "Oh, this is awkward. I just beat up a sister".

I was dying hahaha so we all just went up to the pews and had a laugh about it.

Poor Elder.

Miracles

Well. I just cannot believe how blessed I am to be a missionary. Most people who don't believe in God would consider good happenings in their life to either be mere coincidences or luck. But we who believe in a Heavenly Father have a different word. Blessed. Because that is what you say when you recognize the hand of God in your life.

We're still teaching this girl and I just can't express in so many words the love I have for her. I can literally see the light in her eyes each time she understands more of the truth.

And now she is truly working towards baptism after 14 plus months of being one of the most active non members I have ever met!

But of course, there are always obstacles in the path of righteousness. Truth will always be opposed.

Her mum isn't exactly the biggest fan of the church. She doesn't know anything about it but she just doesn't like it. And She has been terrified to tell her mum she's even considering baptism.

So, on thursday evening we met with her and decided to all fast together. So that her mum's heart may be softened to the decisions that she wants to make. She said that in order to tell her mum about her decision she would need to speak to her face to face but never in a million years would she drive up to manchester to see her and she wasn't going to be going home any time soon.

But the Lord would provide a way.

And so we fasted.

Friday night we called her to break the fast and immediately after the prayer she said "my mum called 30 minutes ago. She's coming up here to see me tomorrow morning".

If that is not an answer to prayer and fasting then I don't know what is! I just know that God is aware of each of us so personally and individually.

Mosiah 24:13-16 are some of my favorite verses that I read this week.

I love being a missionary! I love it!!!

Well.. I'm out of time.

And I don't have my list..haha

So until next week,

Loads of love from England!

Sister Reed


bottom of page