top of page

10 Baptisms!

Wow. This past week has just flown by! I can't believe it!

If all of my weeks end up like this... well. I don't want to think about how fast time will go. I just absolutely love being a missionary. This work is truly divine. And someone once told me that "the work is divine if you let it work on you first".

Wise words :)

And I truly feel like this is a work that Heavenly Father is doing on me! Changing me and molding me to become better than I was yesterday and better tomorrow than I am today. It's quite the bumpy road let me tell you, but it is full of some of the best views you could ever get!

I am the WORST at writing in my journal... in fact. I started a journal in 2005 and finally finished it March of 2014. Impressive, right? Really I'm just amazed that I never lost it all of those years haha

But I finished a journal in 9 months (in december) and I'm halfway through this new one I have and it's only been 3 months! I'm just super tired when I write in it at night so I hope that everything is legible and that it contains some details from my life.... moral of the story is, IF YOU'RE NOT KEEPING A JOURNAL, DO IT.

Even if you only write in it once a month haha because it is something that I will treasure for the rest of my life.

So as you probably noticed from the title... there were quite a few baptisms this week. In fact, those were just baptisms that I did.

Ok, you're probably confused. No, I don't have the priesthood.

I went to the temple <3

So President made a deal with the mission back in January that if you worked out for the exact 30 minutes every day for 30 days then you would be able to go to the temple and do baptisms for those ancestors who have gone before us!

WHAT.

How many missionaries would be able to have this opportunity?? Not many. If any at all.

And so this past wednesday I was able to go to the temple and do baptisms! Which is something I haven't done since I was a youth I think haha It was such a special experience. Any time I get to go to the temple is such a sacred moment. I love the temple.

And Family History work is so divine! I will most likely be the biggest family history junkie when I get home. ha

MISSIONARY MIRACLE

So I am just so happy to share this! So there is a girl we've been teaching who I just absolutely love. And she's been coming to church for over a year right? Well, anyway, she pulled an all nighter in the library and then came straight to church. TALK ABOUT FAITH. and so she comes in and says "I've got a story to tell you!"

Right, so she's on the bus and she's talking to her nan about life and whatnot and she starts talking about her plans for the next couple of days and of course church gets brought into it.. well you know that feeling you get when you're being watched?

Well, she got up to get off at her stop and this man followed her off. Kinda weird... like how a CSI episode would start or something. OR how a great missioanry miracle would start!

He begins by asking her if she goes to church because he overheard her saying something about it. So she explained to him that she did... then he asked her if she takes lessons... well, yeah. "Can I come with you to your next lesson?"

Sure...

hahah I'm dying at this point because I am just so happy! So he gave her his number and then walked off. Which she then handed to me. Talk about missionary work!!! She's a natural.. haha

Also, we kind of accidentally dated someone for baptism on the 19 of this month. Which means they need their interview today.

So that should be fun. haha Prayers anyone?

Also. Everyone likes sisters more. Even other missionaries will listen to sisters more.

Or I'm just biased.

We were having our district night call ins on thursday and our district leader begins by saying "sorry, but the other elders don't want to join us because they're discussing their chinese fin things".

Well I was not having any of that! We are a district! So I said, just wait elder Johnson.. I'll call them and they'll answer me. And then I'll connect them into the conference call and then they HAVE to join district phone call night. He laughed and said sure, try it.

Lo and behold.

I called them.

They answered the second ring.

So I told them to wait a second.

I then fumbled around on the phone to find out how to connect to the conference call and then when It worked I heard elder johnson on the other end. I almost cheered... but instead I just said "there you go, our district is now together. No more secret chinese meetings instead of district night".

And THAT's how it's done.

I love being a missionary.

Of all of the thousands of people that walk along Oxford road during the day, we ran into student named Alex, who has run into missionaries a hundred times. Divine intervention? I think so! We chatted with him and told him next time he sees us he needs to say hello! We gave a Book of Mormon and I think the next time we see him we'll drag him to the building for a chapel tour... yeah.

also, I'm learning spanish. and I'm not half bad at it...

Quotes

"I don't like celery, because it just tastes like crunchy water" ~Javi

"Would you rather have cheeto dust or tree sap on your fingers permanently?" ~Elder Curtis

"Tree sap! And then I'd touch your face!" ~Elder Johnson

"English to me sounds like Beat boxing" ~Elder Ding (from china)

"When I was younger, I used to mix my veggies with my Jello so that I couldn't taste them.." ~Elder Peterson

"I'm so glad you've shared that with us. It was clearly a defining moment in your life.." ~Bishop Roberts

"Elder Ding, do not listen to anything that Elder Peterson says" ~Sister Pew

"Do not worry, I cannot understand anything" ~Elder Ding

I love the story of Enos. Read it this week! And consider how you can develop a stronger relationship with your Heavenly Father. I cherish the relationship that I have been able to cultivate through prayer while on my mission. It is something that I will cherish all of my life. And it is real.

Try it.

The best way to know someone is to speak to them, and a person cannot know of spiritual truths unless they pray!

I love you all!

Love,

Sister Reed


bottom of page