top of page

A New Castle


And by new castle I actually mean the place... Newcastle Under-Lyne!

I am being transferred!!!!!!

I'm really sad to be leaving the YSA ward.. especially since I didn't really get to say good bye to anyone as this past weekend was general conference. I have loved being here and talking with university students from all over the world! It has really opened up my eyes and I have had so many experiences that I just KNOW will change my eternities. I have learnt so much these past 3 months.. about myself, my Heavenly Father's plan, and my Saviour.

Well. really quickly. I haven't gone on a rant about this in a really long time BUT. I love family history. Maybe it's because over conference weekend I just felt such a stronger love for my family. And I just love learning about my history! So, basically.. if you haven't started it.. or you haven't done it in a while. Two words. DO IT. And there are some really great websites.. like familysearch.org *cough cough*

ANYWAY. Back to mission life.

SO. This past month has been CRAZY. I am so happy for Brogan. There is such a bright light that radiates from her... you can see it a mile away! There is a temple trip for the YSA at the end of the month and it will be such a sweet experience for her to be able to go.

Pedro is from Portugal and he came to one of the sessions of general conference. What a powerhouse session to go to! Afterwards he told us how much he loved it and asked how he could listen to the other sessions? It was incredible! So although Sister Cristobal and I are both leaving the area, I have faith that the sisters coming in after us will take good care and continue teaching him. And either way, I know that the Lord is mindful of all of His people. I am so excited for his future!

There are so many good people that we have met this past week... there were two that we were able to set up appointments for. One was Nadim from Malaysia and he is the sweetest! He was so polite and so humble! His questions were amazing as we gave the tour about the different paintings. It just made me want to ask more questions... I love learning. And God can only teach the inquiring mind!

The other man that we met was named Joel pronounced (yoel) from finland! But his english was really good. Or at least I think it was.. I think I probably should have talked less and asked him more questions... I'll work on that haha but he seemed to understand.

Anyway, we got to the last floor of the tour in the building which is the baptismal room. The spirit was so strong as we testified of following Christ's example and of the restoration of the church. We gave him a copy of the Book of Mormon and he fervently committed to read it and then to ask God if it be true. It was incredible!

Hmm... well! Today was a bank holiday and so we were able to go to the temple! I absolutely LOVE the temple. And because it's right next to the MTC I was a bit cheeky and went to go and see if I could poke in and say hello the President and Sister Preston. And boy was that a treat! It was so good to see him! The first thing he asked was how long I had left.. oh dear. haha

Well, I've got 6 months! Plenty of time! I hope that I can make the best use of it :)

I was called as a Sister Training Leader and so I will be heading off to go and drive! Wooo! I hope I can remember all of the driving books I had to read a few months ago... haha but I am so excited to be going back to the first stake that I served in. And just in time for summer! Hopefully summer comes.. I actually took my coat off for the first time in 7 months today. I have high hopes that this means summer is close.

Oh. And I ate a wrap with chicken and corn and sweet chili sauce. Just thought I'd let you know.

OH. And in the YSA area we mainly work on Oxford road because that's where all of the university students are. And it can get PRETTY crazy at times.. and so they've shortened the name to the OX. And similar to riding a real ox... when we go finding on this road it can be intense! SO often times missionaries who come for the day or on exchanges are excited to get to go and "ride the ox!"

To make this long story short.. we made shirts.

And we're totes getting them done.

So yeah! Here's a picture of what it will look like! I'm a bit out of practice with drawing but hey, it's the mission life! There are more important things to do. But when your companion is sick for a few days.. why not take time to design a shirt? :)

Quotes of the Week

"It would be a deal breaker if I wasn't a jedi." -Elder Gordon

"I can imagine there being a celestial YSA ward.. actually, no. That would defeat the purpose. False doctrine, never mind.." -Brother Walsh

"Trainer. Save me" -Elder Ding

"I want a nothing box in my head" -Sister Cristobal

I love serving in the YSA ward! There is seriously a hilarious group of missionaries we have here... I love the Chinese companionship haha elder Ding is fresh from china and he is so funny! And his English is good.. but sometimes the way he says things just kill me!

It's also awkward when you and your companion get to the floor of the flat complex you live on and you can tell that your neighbors have been cooking curry.. and then when you get in and start to pray they start to drill into the wall next to you. It's great fun.

And every night as we're going to sleep we can hear the people below us yelling in some foreign language.. We could tell the time by their yells.

Also, I made my famous cookies the other day and brought them to a meeting with the food bank group at the catholic church. I think they liked them because i made 30 and out of the four of them we took home 2. Done and done. #tasteofamerica

I love you all! I am excited to tell you all of my stories from my new area! It will be weird to talk to older people... what do I even say? How do I relate to them? How do I knock on doors...? I just don't know. haha so this should be fun.

Also, pray that I can remember which side of the road to drive on... that would be great.

Loads of love,

Sister Reed


bottom of page