top of page

In for the Long Haul


Wow. I don't even know where to start! I feel as though there is so much that I need to tell you all!

First off, we're having trasnfers again this next week. It snuck up on us super fast! That and it was only a 4 week trasnfer. Which means that this next one will be 7 weeks! Hence the title of this email... haha

Well, I'm just going to type things as they come to my memory from the past week, so bear with me! It will probably seem all scattered and whatnot but hey, that's mission life!

So, last Sunday was such a surprise (i think it was last sunday). Anyway, we were just leaving church as the Stoke on Trent ward was beginning their meeting. And as it was their ward conference there were TONS of people there. One of the last families to walk around the corner though took me by surprise...

It was the Boydell's!!! FROM CREWE!!!! I hadn't seen them since September and I seriously sould not contain my excitment. I probably resemble a teenage girl who just got her license and saw her parents reveal a shiny new car for her in the drive... "No way.. no flippin way..." I may or may not have said those words.

Either way, I was so happy. I LOVE running into people I used to serve around! It's one of the joys of this work :) You form such good relationships with these people, they truly become your family :)

Anyway, we also went on exchange this week! I was pretty apprehenshive about it. We had a long drive and I knew that one of the sisters we were exchanging with wasn't really wanting to go on exchanges. So It made me pretty nervous because I just wanted her to really enjoy it and have a good time. It was a bit of pressure but hey, I think it turned out alright? Well, we did at least... the car on the other hand...

Is another story. haha I'm only laughin because we're all ok! On wednesday morning we were driving to meet the Elders in the town centre to pass out copies of the Book of Mormon and have a bit of a jam session and just enjoy doing missionary work! We were scrambling everywhere to try and find a place to park though. As I was heading on a round about (sketchy things) I was in the outside lane as a car on the inside was wanting to exit. AND so.... well. He hit us. But it wasn't too bad... scared the living day lights out of me but it just took off our wing mirror and caused a few dents. Nothing too serious. Thank goodness for the Elders though! I was pretty much in shock after the whole thing but Elder Van Wagoner drove over and helped to sort everything out. You can bet he's gonna get some cookies haha I was so grateful for his help!

Anyway, that left us without a car! On pretty much one of the worst weeks to be without a car... we had a HUGE mission wide conference with general authorities on Saturday to get to and also next week is the transfer meeting! UGH.

Opposition is great, eh?

So, onto this mission wide conference. I was PUMPED. We've been waiting well, basically my entire mission for this, because it is a training to prepare us for using technology in our mission work! I.E. The IPADS!!!!!!!!! I think it's so funny... ha we've all been waiting donkey's years for this to come around!

So Elder Dyches and his wife and then Elder Allen and his wife flew to come and have this mission wide conference with us :) You could say we were all a little excited... just a little.

The conference was incredible! The place was packed but the sisters got the front few benches. We had to take the train up (like old times) because our car is getting fixed and so we arrived a bit late. There was a bench in the very front though over next to the piano... so we took that one! I slid over to the very end against the wall, kind of behind the piano.

There's a reason I'm giving so much detail, I promise haha

Well, anyway, this training was mostly given to us but there were several times when they asked for participation and involvment!

I raised my hand a few times but I was so far over to the side you could hardly see me... plus there were over 230 people there so yeah, but I still would raise my hand occaisionally!

Elder Dyches of the Seventy was speaking at this time and he had asked for any one who had questions to please ask them! There were a few and then after those had been discussed he once again asked if there were any more questions. Everyone sat there quietly and there was me, just minding my own business and the thought occurs to me to fix my hair. So (thinking nothing of the gesture or the timing of it) I raise my hand quickly just to throw my hair out of my face.

This would be the one time Elder Dyches sees me in the corner... haha he immediately turns to me and extends his arm, "Yes, please" And after I realised what he thought I was doing my hand shot back to my lap and I just awkwardly shook my head... "But I saw your hand go up?" And he waited for me to continue to which I (now shaking from being put on the spot) respnd with "Uhh... no I don't have anything... I was just uhh... fixin my hair"

And I probably said it in the most Texan way you could.

Oh well. At least everyone got a laugh out of it.

Elder Dyches just chuckled and responded by fixing his own hair and saying "Yes, Elders we know a lot about that don't we?"

It was such a powerful meeting though! We found out that we had to take the train back as there weren't any more cars to be used and so we started the trek back.

We got our transfer calls and I will be staying here and will be getting a new companion to come and be a sister training leader with me! ITS SISTER CONLOGUE!!!!!!!!!!

Many of you probably don't know why that is in all caps. It's because I'm excited.

She was in my flat in Manchester for two weeks before she was moved and we had so much fun! And I had said that if there was anyone I would love to serve with it would be her. And so yes, I'm chuffed.

well, I've already rambled on long enough! I have a lot more to share but I'll save that for next week!

Here are some funny quotes!

"Well, I prefer Rafael myself..." -A 5 year old stating his opinion on the ninja turtles

"One more oreo and then I'll go to bed.."

"Two more, you can't just leave one in the bag!"

"I fell off the bus again...." -an elder's journal entry

"One does not simply watch a football match..."

"Look at the Heavenly Bubbles!" ~Sister Arias referring to the clouds

"I think we are in the middle of the nothing.." ~Sister Arias travelling back to Newcastle

"Alright, you've got to suspend the book with the knives!"

"Just cello tape it..." ~Becca age 6

I love being a missionary! And I LOVE england!!!! I am so gratefull to be serving here at this time.

Hope you all have a good week and a good Mother's day coming up!!

Love, Sister Reed


bottom of page