top of page

Rhyl gets Real

Another blessed week in England!!

Well, not too many awkward things happened...

We had an exchange with the sisters in Rhyl and the whole mission got their IPads this week!! So that's exciting :) and because our meeting ended early we drove all the way to Wales to exchange back... It was an incredible drive!! I love getting to know all of the sisters better :)

A member had called to ask a favour... Sister conlogue was on the phone and well, after you ask "what" 3 times you just don't want to ask again haha so she had asked us to get her some mince! Mince meat I guess? It was a weird request but we went for it anyway....

Turns out she wanted "mints"

Much more reasonable. How could we have ever mixed the two?

Also, poor sister Conlogue. I had the benefit of having a real driving instructor from England... She gets stuck with me hahah we were leaving from our street display, the elders close behind, and she panicked and went down a one way road, then to quickly correct her error she hops a curb and promptly cuts off the elders as well.

Embarrassing would be an understatement, but it was still pretty fun haha

I love this area!! I love being a missionary!! We have so many incredible people that we are working with. And England is absolutely stunning in the summer :) I hope that the weather stays!! It's weird to think that when I email home next I'll be 22... I wish I could jam to T swifts song, but I'll save it haha

So we had a whole area conference broadcast with Elder Holland and a few other incredible speakers on Sunday!! Elder Holland of course just hit the spot! I have always loved his talks. But after I heard his I just wanted to focus ALL of my efforts on teaching about the Book of Mormon and flooding my life and earth with its teachings.

We have another full mission conference on Tuesday and so I'm really excited for that! I can't wait to see all of the changes that will be implemented and of course it's always powerful to gather together as a missionary force :)

This week I was studying some of the Christ like attributes. I have studied most of them quite frequently... But as I was trying to prayerfully pick one to focus on the one that came to mind probably was the last one I would have ever picked. And for good reasons haha when you hear the word "patience" what do you think of? Waiting a long time for things to happen? Having to just handle the circumstance until something better comes along? When I hear patience I pretty much think of just being patient. Which is why I don't think I've ever really studied it, what more is there to learn about patience other than you need it?

Well, let me tell you... There is a lot more to patience than meets the eye!

I came across this talk and instead of trying your patience with my ramblings.. I'll just leave this quote with y'all :)

"In each case, Heavenly Father had a purpose in requiring that His children wait. Every one of us is called to wait in our own way. We wait for answers to prayers. We wait for things which at the time may appear so right and so good to us that we can’t possibly imagine why Heavenly Father would delay the answer. The answer didn’t come immediately. But eventually I learned that God’s promises are not always fulfilled as quickly as or in the way we might hope; they come according to His timing and in His ways. Years later I could see clear evidence of the temporal blessings that come to those who obey the Word of Wisdom--in addition to the spiritual blessings that come immediately from obedience to any of God’s laws. Looking back, I know for sure that the promises of the Lord, if perhaps not always swift, are always certain." President Uchtdorf

The people we're teaching!

We saw sarah last night!! We brought a member with us, but she wasn't in... and so we left her a voicemail and then the member wanted to show us the scenery! So we drove just up the road and he showed us quickly the view from where we were. We could see so far! But then Sarah called and told us that she was on her way home and would still like to see us! The member had to get back home so we just did some finding in the area until we saw her. It was an amazing lesson. She has just been studying their faith (Jehovah's witness) since September.. so she isn't baptised and she isn't planning on it yet because she still has so many questions and keeps getting pulled back to our faith! We showed her from the bible all of the verses (or a lot of them at least) about our pre existence and she said it all makes sense. We even read some of the verses from her JW's bible so she could see that the wording was similar. For example, we started with the verse in Ecclesiastes 12:7 about returning to live with God. Well, we can't return somewhere we've never been. and it uses the word "return" in both the King James and in the translation she has... so she couldn't really dispute it. But it was interesting because during the course of the lesson she really just wanted to soak everything that we were saying in! Last time she tried to combat our answers with those she received from the Jehovah's witnesses.. but she was all ears this time!

It was incredible because by the end of it we simply told her that what makes us different is the Book of Mormon. We, and just about every other Christian faith out there, believe in the Bible. But if she wanted to know whether or not we were true and right, she would need to read the Book of Mormon.

SO she said the closing prayer and it was absolutely brilliant. She just emphasized her desires to know the truth and that she understood now how important the bible and the Book of Mormon were together! It was incredible.

Quotes of the week!

"I don't like it when you go that fast... It wastes petrol

Look! I cut off one minute!" Sister conlogue and I (don't worry, it wasn't me that was driving ;)

"I just accidentally flung my ctr ring somewhere" sister conlogue sent me this in the middle of a meeting..

"My dream would be to get stuck at the top and then roll backwards.

Why? You would enjoy that?

Yes, because then you get to go twice!" Our pillow talking at night

"Such uncoordinated power!" Elder rongo about sister conlogue

Well, I love you all!! Thanks for your prayers and your thoughts.

I miss you all! But I'm loving my calling here to serve :)

Love,

Sister Reed


bottom of page